Opening NEF files in Photoshop CS4

0ptics

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello!

So I recently received my Nikon D3100; it's my first DSLR and I'm a complete beginner in photography but love it as a hobby. Anyways I took a few sample shots with the camera and I choose to shoot them in "Image Quality: NEF (RAW) files". I have Abode Photoshop CS4 and know the basics to it, but it wouldn't let me open the NEF files. So I did some research and people were saying that NEF is Nikon's version of RAW and you can only open it in ViewNX 2, but is there someway of converting it or opening it without degrading the image into Photoshop CS4? I love CS4 and am completely comfortable using it, thus I'd prefer using that over ViewNX 2.

Also some people suggested converting the files into JPEG/TIFF, would that be a poor decision? One of my friends is a amateur photography and he told me "if you using a DSLR, ONLY shoot in RAW" and overall photographers prefer/use RAW over other file types.

Thanks! The help would be much appreciated, again I'm a noob to photography so any extra help would be nice as well!
0ptics

You can open NEF files with photoshops camera raw. You might need to update your camera raw. Or you can download adobes DNG converter. It will convert NEF files to DNG (digital negative) and then you can open them.

You can no longer update CS4, so you will have to download the Adobe DNG converter. DNG is adobe's standardized raw-you don't lose anything in the conversion, it's still raw.

Ahhh thank you both! Ya I just downloaded the converter CS4 is opening them :D! But when I open a file, the image is in a separate pop-up, "Camera RAW 5.6 - D3100" and it gives me the options of exposure, contrast, RGB histogram, etc., what is this pop-up? Aren't I able to do all of these functions with CS4's tools already?

I also noticed that the DNG was about 9mb will the RAW was about 12mb, does the loss in data affect pictures that much?

Thanks!

Last edited: