Original vs. Edit

KAMurphy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey!

I was wondering if I could get some constructive criticism on my edit to this photo. I'm new to photography/editing, so any advice is welcome!

Thanks in advance,

Kate

Original:
IMG_1546 by Kate Murphy, on Flickr

Edit:
Canyon with red plant by Kate Murphy, on Flickr

Nice edit, I could see maybe a graduated pull with the layer set to multiple and then reduce it's opacity. You can bring out the shadows with a layer set to screen and then brush in some of the dark foliage. Also for me I see the composition working better as a tight panorama crop

Hope this helps

Last edited:
Nice edit, I could see maybe a graduated pull with the layer set to multiple and then reduce it's opacity. You can bring out the shadows with a layer set to screen and then brush in some of the dark foliage. Also for me I see the composition working better as a tight panorama crop

Hope this helps

Thanks! I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind expanding a bit more? What’s a graduated pull?

Hey!
..any advice is welcome!
Hey, there, Kate! I'm glad you're here! Much to say; your edit is pretty good, and the distant figure is fairly close to the "thirds" which is where it should be, however, the figure is so small that it tends to get lost in the frame. In my version, I cropped the frame severely, and put the figure way over to one side, which moves him off the vertical third, but he is still on the horizontal third line. More importantly, he is now a prominent part of the composition, albeit still way tiny. This edit draws the eye to the figure, yet includes the canyon as a major part of the composition as well.

I also straightened it some, minor adjustment to WB and exposure, and a tiny bit of sharpening.

41705487821_75d7e6c07c_k - Version 2.jpg

Your comments in return?

I will not consider this as an edit as the difference is minimal and it’s not adding much value to the original picture.