Painter looking for best avenue to quality photo references

semper_aug

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I apologize if this is a subject that has been discussed here before. Searching for information has been a little difficult due to words with multiple meanings (ex. models could mean person or toy/car/figure or concept).
I am an artist looking for the best way to get a photo reference for my paintings. I have a few questions that maybe someone can help me out with.
I am a very very amateur photographer. I understand just the basic concepts. Portraits are my specialty so I have thought about hiring a model and attempting to make my own (hopefully quality looking) photos. I am nervous to do this however, having no experience. Has anyone worked with other artists before? Should I take this route? Should I find someone to assist me? Do photographers offer photographs to use as photo references that I wouldn't be stealing by painting and eventually selling my work? I want to be respectful to other's work and find a way to obtain quality photo references for my work. Thoughts?
Photography is such a beautiful art form, but I prefer to further my experience with sketching/painting etc. Art is my passion, but I have a very low income and I can't really afford to hire a lot of expensive people, if it matters, I have a decent camera. how can I make this a win-win for a photographer/model and me?

480sparky

Chief Free Electron Relocator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
pixels.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Not sure what you mean by 'photo reference'. Are you wanting to use a photo as a basis for creating a painting?

OP
S

semper_aug

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Not sure what you mean by 'photo reference'. Are you wanting to use a photo as a basis for creating a painting?