PhD research for non-photographer

Laurela3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,
As a disclaimer, I don’t have any photography experience and so please excuse any ignorant questions.
I am a PhD student researching in Africa and I’m investigating a project that would require the use of 35 mm cameras. The camera users would be inexperienced (perhaps never used/seen a camera). There are two goals to the project; to encourage communication and interaction in the community and to have a database of images. Thus, I’m not expecting or looking for professional photographs, but for images that tell a story from the photographer’s (community member’s) perspective. Of course, I still want the photographs to be of a good quality with the option of printing them for display.
I need guidance for the following questions:
Would disposable cameras be sufficient for this project?
If not, which camera should I look into purchasing? I will be needing as many as a dozen or more and price is an issue.
Is there a site that sells cameras like these at a discount rate for bulk purchases?
Any other guidance, experience, etc. is more than welcome. Thanks!

Point and Shoot cameras should be fine (but they are not 35mm) or are you specifically talking film cameras?

The other suggestion I'd have (if P&S is acceptable) is to consider water/dust/shock proof cameras so they can handle being thrown around a little more.

It does sounds like they are looking for 35mm (film) cameras.

I think that disposable cameras might be OK in this scenario, although you could probably find non-disposable point & shoot style 35mm camera pretty cheap. They are all but worthless these days, now that just about everybody is shooting digital. Most people probably give them away or just recycle them etc. That might make it hard to actually find a bunch of them though.