photo comparison (which one do you prefer?)

TNHphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I was in North Carolina this past weekend and was testing out my new camera. I'm a newbie. I'm in need of a little advice. Which photo do you all prefer?

$1400389_10102336446983319_1357507869_o.jpg

$894778_10102336447936409_2135203878_o.jpg

Thanks!

I'm actually not sure, that's why I was asking. I'm hoping others will weigh in. The first has bokeh, the second is all in focus. Which image do you prefer?

I've been staring at them for too long, and I can't decide. I'd like outside opinions, if possible.

Neither, because the flowers in the foreground are under exposed and not well separated from the background.

Some diffused flash or reflected light on the flowers would have helped a lot.

Some post process image editing could help.

Lew, I guess the first photo feels brighter to me. But the second photo feels sharper. Like Keith says, neither feels perfect though. I'm just trying to determine which of the two is a better photograph.

Say you had to submit this to a blog or magazine (which I don't)...and you could only send one...which would you send? That's what I'm trying to determine.

It's like asking someone else what ice cream flavor they like best, it is meaningless to you.

Look at each element in the image, the mountains, their position in the frame the way they interact, the exposure, the focus
then repeat that with the flowers
the how do the elements interact?

It's not enough to like something or not like it.
You have to know why.

Lew Lorton Photography | Semiotics of Images - why some images are more comfortable than others -Part 2

crap...im screwed. I have NO idea why I like moose tracks ice cream.
I guess i will just be forever unfulfilled.

that was a pretty good blog post Lew. its actually got me hitting the "next post" button.

Last edited: