Photo editing software...

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Michael Cardenas, Jun 26, 2020.

1. Michael Cardenas

Michael Cardenas TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi. My name is Mike, and I'm fairly new to photography:05.18-flustered:. I was wondering what type of photo editing software I should purchase to start practicing editing my photos. Any tips, advice or recommendations anyone?

• Like Like x 1
  2. SquarePeg

SquarePeg hear me roar Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Adobe has a free 30 day trial of Lightroom and Photoshop. It’s a subscription service that you pay around $10 a month for but you always have the latest upgrade. If you’re looking for a one time purchase there are other options topaz labs, affinity photo, capture one… All of them likely have 30 day free trials

if you’re new and just starting out the thing is, a lot of the tutorials are going to be based on Adobe Lightroom. same thing for all the workshops and things like that so it’s your choice but I tried to go the other route and found I had to get back to Adobe because that’s where a lot of the training and available information is based.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. RVT1K

RVT1K No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I use an older version of Photoshop Elements and own the disk, no subscription required.

It is very capable and would more than suit the needs of a beginner.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. JoeW

JoeW Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    If you're looking for something that is very capable and doesn't require a subscription (ie: a monthly fee) than look at Affinity Photo. I'm very happy with it.

5. smoke665

smoke665 TPF Supporters Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    What she said!