Photo editing software...

Michael Cardenas

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi. My name is Mike, and I'm fairly new to photography:05.18-flustered:. I was wondering what type of photo editing software I should purchase to start practicing editing my photos. Any tips, advice or recommendations anyone?

Adobe has a free 30 day trial of Lightroom and Photoshop. It’s a subscription service that you pay around $10 a month for but you always have the latest upgrade. If you’re looking for a one time purchase there are other options topaz labs, affinity photo, capture one… All of them likely have 30 day free trials

if you’re new and just starting out the thing is, a lot of the tutorials are going to be based on Adobe Lightroom. same thing for all the workshops and things like that so it’s your choice but I tried to go the other route and found I had to get back to Adobe because that’s where a lot of the training and available information is based.

I use an older version of Photoshop Elements and own the disk, no subscription required.

It is very capable and would more than suit the needs of a beginner.

If you're looking for something that is very capable and doesn't require a subscription (ie: a monthly fee) than look at Affinity Photo. I'm very happy with it.

Adobe has a free 30 day trial of Lightroom and Photoshop. It’s a subscription service that you pay around $10 a month for but you always have the latest upgrade. If you’re looking for a one time purchase there are other options topaz labs, affinity photo, capture one… All of them likely have 30 day free trials

if you’re new and just starting out the thing is, a lot of the tutorials are going to be based on Adobe Lightroom. same thing for all the workshops and things like that so it’s your choice but I tried to go the other route and found I had to get back to Adobe because that’s where a lot of the training and available information is based.

What she said!