Photo equipment wants/needs has my head spinning

ZenMonkey

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm somewhat new to dslr photography and have only shot with an old Canon Rebel xs. I bought a kit off ebay several years ago and was not happy with the system. I've taken some online photography courses, but I'm still very much new to this. I'd like to start over with new equipment. I no longer have the Canon kit. I take photos every chance I get, but with point and shoots and phone cameras. I want to learn more advanced techniques, so I need a more advanced system that I can grow into. There's no specific genre to shoot for. I shoot everything, but I am fond of landscapes and sports photography more so than say macro and whatnot.

My budget is growing and I'm willing to wait for a system best suited for my needs. I would prefer a weather sealed body/lenses simply because I want to shoot in varying weather conditions. I hike a lot also, so a smaller body is needed. The pentax k-3 seems to be one of the better options right now. I'd like to one day develop professional skills and earn a living from photography, though. I'm not sure if Pentax is the best option with that being said. Portraits, sports, and concert events are more my style for future photography goals. I refuse to shoot weddings. To date, my budget is minimal, but as I stated ... I'm willing to wait until I am able to purchase equipment that will suit my needs best.