"Photographer" or "Digitographer?

angle of view

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I ran into a fellow photographer yesterday, who had his work displayed for sale at a local cider mill. I tried to engage in friendly shop talk. The first thing he asked me when I said "I too am a photographer" is "are you film, or digital?" I'm a digital photographer. This guy then started on this long winded explanation about how (my kind) are not really photographers, we are considered "digitographers" for our specialty, according to Kodak specs. He also was totally demeaning the idea of digital photography in any light he could. He really just seemed bitter.
Now, I've worked with wet process before, and I have total respect for film. I'm not going to say one is better than the other. They both follow the same basic principals. It's just matter of what you want to achieve as an artist, and as a professional.
I would like to know how this community feels about this. "Photographer" or "digitographer?"

meh, who cares? as long as good images are being made I don't care if the format is 4x5, digital, or quicksnap disposable.

If someone asks me that, I tell them both, even though I shoot more digital (actually recently, more film), and if they're older or if they come off as bitter, I just say more film to avoid what happened to you.

There are a few snobs out there who think that film is the only way to go for any kind of serious photography and that digital is in some way cheating or not real photography.

This is rubbish. Yes, that it an assertion. No, I won't take it back. Photography is the art of capturing an image, why should the medium matter? The basic principles of pre-visualisation, composition, lighting etc all remain the same. Photographers can use whichever medium they want to create what they see in their minds eye.

meh I am what I am
the rules have not changed its just that the kit has evolved.