Photographing very large flat artwork with flash or strobes?

danonthehill

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am an artist (painter). I want to photograph my paintings, which are usually very large from 6x8 to 14x8 feet. In the past I have used 2 800w red head lights set up at 45 degree angles to limit any reflections on the surface, with fairly poor results due to the uneven lighting. I have seen other people get good results using bounce flash. I have just bought a Canon 5d which I plan to use with my Contax Zeiss 50mm and 28mm and think it will be possible to get good results with these. I have some experience with photography, I have shot large format etc, however I have no experience of using flash. What is the best way to get an even light when photographing large flat art work like this. I really don't have much cash left so should I get a speedlight or a couple of cheap strobe lights? Would I need umberellas with strobes, how powerful would the speedlight need to be, could I get away with 430ex and what angle should I bounce it to limit reflections? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

I was going to say have the flashes at 45 degrees ... one on either side ... shoot through a large white cloth hanging in front of flash; diffused light.

Though I could be wrong ... I've never shot any of my large canvas paints before.

hello Dan. i am a artist also. i'm curious - your idea of using flash over daylight? is it due to the size of your pictures and/or limitations of natural light in a studio (?) ..could daylight simulation bulbs be another option?

...What is the best way to get an even light when photographing large flat art work like this...