Photography newbee

madhan_2005

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
HEllo guys, great to see you all here. my name is madhan and i am relatively new to photography. Just starting into it. I am planning to buy my first camera. But I have a little confusion. I amthinking of buying a sony dsc 100v which is a super zoom camera 16.2MP but its sensor size is smaller than rebel t2i that has a larger sensor so it can capture more details. but the hx 100v comes with 27 -810mm lens in it. and rebel t2i has only 70 - 300mm for telephoto. I mostly intend to use the camera for general point and shoot and som good bunch of macro's. shall i go with dsc hx 100v with raynox 250 or rebel t2i(with 18-55mm and 70 - 300mm) with raynox. i want to be able to get great macro shots and great quality in general photos. will DSC 100v's 810 mm with raynox give better magnified macros than t2i's 300mm with raynox

please help me...

the sony is a bridge camera with a fixed lens, the canon is a dslr and you can purchase different lens for different scenarios, i would take the canon every time

Canon! Basically, sony have their fingers dipped in WAY too many pies and I find that their colours are flat and lifeless, their sounds are way too bass heavy to compensate for the lack of quality and their tv's have so much grey wash. Go for the Dslr (either canon or Nikon [even though until recently sony made the nikon sensors]). It is WAy better to have a camera you can upgrade the lenses on than a standard point and shoot. It will open up so many options for you as you progress.

but the canon does not have panoromas, 3d photos, in camera HDR. for pros these do not seem to matter but for a newbee like me these definitely are more useful and worth to have in a camera. Can you suggest any other good camera within 500-600USD that can be a best buy for me. please advice me of a good camera...