Photography part time.

dak1b

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All!

So I've been doing photography for abotu three years now. Its been a favorite hobby of mine, and an expensive one at that! Now I've decided why not make some money out of the thing I love to do the most, photography!

I want to start out my photography business taking photos of people outside on location..where ever they want in the area. I will supply them a dvd/or cd with all images and a online photo album (suggestions for online albulm for clients to view?)

How much should I charge for my services? by hr? or what?

Thanks in advance! :mrgreen:

Are you talking about starting an actual business, with expenses like insurance and reporting income and stuff, or just making some scratch on the down low?

I remember you. I owe you one for pointing out the mission district locations for street art in San Francisco ;). I actually take clients out there quite often.

As far as charging your clients...let me ask you this. Who is your target market?

yes yes i'm back on the forums! :) glad to hear!

Target market....honestly i haven't really thought too much about this..ha really anyone who needs me for a birthday...event....portrait....etc...

basically I'm going to advertise on crigslist and other ad sites and offer my services, and anyone who calls, ill try and work with them....i really just want to start with phootshoots of family/kids in parks or wtev...

Do you have liability insurance just in case your Senior Portrait model slips and falls and hits their head on the railroad track that you suggested they stand on?

Do you have liability insurance just in case your Senior Portrait model slips and falls and hits their head on the railroad track that you suggested they stand on?

No, these are thing sI'm talknig about. Do I have to have this? anything else?

That would be my biggest concern. Protection from accidents that you could be held liable for.