Photography with a Disability

balizwaa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi folks,

I'm a 21 year old guy living in Toronto. I was in a car accident not too long ago and now I'm confined to a wheel-chair.

I received a present from a few friend who encouraged me to pursue my love for photography. I've always loved it, I've always spent hours staring at photos... and now, I have the equipment now.

Unfortunately, I have no photography experience whatsoever. I don't understand all the terminology. I don't understand how to change around the settings to get the perfect picture... I feel really dumb. I've got a lot going on in my life right now, and I really want to learn photography. I feel it could be a nice outlet.

Anyway... there is another issue which was the main reason I started this thread, I just rambled on. I love Macro Photography! now that I have a really good macro lens I want to learn everything and all the relevant info. There IS a limitation. As I said I'm in a wheel-chair. I'm limited to taking pictures from the chair. I was wondering if there is a way for me to get an external lcd viewer or something, so that I can place the camera down anywhere and still be able to see what it's looking @ from my chair -- is that possible?

So, if you can please answer the above question and also give me some tips on getting started, some links perhaps? I am so lost and confused. I don't know where to start! I have a few links but when it starts talking about ISO and F/2 whatever, I get intimidated!

I hope you guys stuck around long enough to read all this incoherent message.

Thanks!!!!!! I hope to be a part of this community.

I am pretty sure quite a few DSLR's have the ability to be hooked up to a laptop PC, and fired remotely. What kind of camera do you have?

ISO is film/sensor speed. Daylight= Low ISO (100-200) Deep shade (200-400) Indoors, low light (400 on up)