Photoshop vs Aperature

Koalabear

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All!

I am getting back into my black and white photography, as I used to shoot film and use a dark room about ten years ago. I just purchased a Nikon D5100. Now the question is, do I go PC or Mac.

Aperature is a fairly new program, but is giving photoshop some decent competition.

I am looking at opening a business with my niche being on pet photography.

Thanks in advance.

Lisa

Last edited:
I would go MAC but thats all I own and for what its worth I work in IT and support Microsoft products all day long in my job. As for software I use photoshop , but I hear that aperture works well, I use photoshop because its an industry standard not that I work professionally. I just like to stay within an accepted convention technologically when it comes to file formats and PSD files are pretty universal. I am not sure if aperture files can be opened by software other than Aperture. I do know if you are working in video Final Cut is the final word in video editing. Sorry for the pun.

Do you have a MAC now? Photoshop can be used on MAC's and is generally accepted as the industry standard for photo editing. I don't think Aperture is coming close...yet.

P.S. in order to keep your post on topic, may I suggest you delete everything after "Could you all share the pros and cons"? Trust me, you threw a big softball out there ripe for hitting.

No I do not have any computer right now.

Photoshop = Lamborghini

Aperture = Ford

Aperture vs Photoshop is apples and oranges. Not the same league.

Aperture vs Lightroom is apples and apples.

Do you need a Lamborghini or will a Ford do for your needs?

Which Photoshop? There are 4 versions. Elements 10 - CS 6 - CS 6 Extended - Lightroom 4

Apple's Aperture and Adobe's Photoshop Lightroom are equivalent in the sense both are PIEware Raw converters. (Parametric Image Editing)