Vautrin

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.withoutamapphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I've made the mistake of buying a fabric background instead of paper or something thicker and heavier.

You can see the problem I have in the below photos:
$models-1.jpg$models-2.jpg

In the image on the left, the model is well exposed... The problem is the background is distracting... It has this distracting texture (I should have ironed it) and it's not the really dark black I'd like.

The image on the right exposure is 3EV less. Great for the background. Not so great for the model.

What's the best way to combine the images, or alter the images so my background is true black, and my model is properly exposed?

(and btw, any c&c welcome!)

Thanks,

Dan

The best solution is to get it right when shooting, rather than trying to fix it in post.

The most likely reason that your background isn't looking dark/black like you want it to, is simply because you're putting too much light onto it. The first thing to do, is move your subject (and your light) farther away from the background. In terms of diffuse reflection, the reflected light will drop off exponentially as you move the light farther away. In other words, if you move the light twice as far away, the reflection would be 4 times darker. Three times farther away...nine times darker.

And of course, if you can just prevent the light from hitting the backdrop, by placing something between them, that will help as well.

As for fixing what you have, it should be pretty simple, just use a layer mask (in software that allows that) so that you can edit the background separately from the model. Might be tough in this case, because of her black hat and dark hair against the dark background. We usually like to have some separation between model and background, which can be accomplished by lighting either the back of the model or the background itself.

Some suggestions: