Picture seems very flat, why ?

Reaction score
Hi All!

So firstly I'm new to the site , I'm an amateur hobbyist of DSLR film , I have a D5100 with unlocked firmware ( simply had to be able to correctly expose). With that said...

Often when I compare my own work to that of professionals I just can't seem to to get the same depth and dynamic range . I am fully aware of the skill and equipment difference between myself and a professional but is there anything I can do to improve myself?

Currently I shoot with lowered contrast and brightness so as to prevent crushed black's and whites but in post I don't know how to regain that rich dynamic range. What often happens is that I over compensate on the contrast and I get a grainy , highly contrasted picture with a disgusting tint that closely resembles a 14 year old girls Instagram feed!

Please help! Any advice , be it to do with capturing the image or editing it, would be greatly appreciated !

I don't understand how you shoot with 'lowered contrast and brightness.'
I imagine that you are shooting jpegs and using picture controls to lower contrast and brightness.
Since a jpeg throws away data I imagine you are losing everything between the content of a RAW file and the contents of a low contrast, underexposed jpeg.

Shoot a few in raw and stop foreclosing on the future of every shot by fiddling with it before you see it.

If you were to post a photo as an example you will get plenty of tips Im sure

@The_Traveler , by shoot I was implying record video , my apologies for the ambiguity, but the video is compressed. You are also correct with the picture control . My reason for decreasing the contrast and brightness is that I read an article stating once highlights are blow you loose all that info and to prevent this you decrease the contrast. ( almost imposing an s curve to the picture control bit not as intense)

I'm starting to film with a neutral picture control but still decreasing the contrast a tad.