Please help...beginner here.

dupchurch

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I would like to start taking wedding, glamour, portraits, model portfolios, etc. as a part-time business. I have a full time career and would like to do this 20-25 hours a week. :? I have room for a small studio in my house and I live in Florida, so plenty of outdoor locations. Anyway, I would love any pointers. Are there any good online courses, or books for beginners? What recommendations would you make for studio lighting? Any help would be appreciated!

dupchurch said:
I would like to start taking wedding, glamour, portraits, model portfolios, etc. as a part-time business. I have a full time career and would like to do this 20-25 hours a week. :? I have room for a small studio in my house and I live in Florida, so plenty of outdoor locations. Anyway, I would love any pointers. Are there any good online courses, or books for beginners? What recommendations would you make for studio lighting? Any help would be appreciated!

What is it that you are interested in? Photography or the business prospects of it?
I mean, is photography your passion?

If you’re just starting out the best thing you can do is to take as many photos as you can. Just keep experimenting.

You can find plenty of theory books at any large book store. I had this one called [ame=http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0817458697/qid=1082385794/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1/103-5942257-1695017?v=glance&s=books]Shoot![/ame]. It was pretty good. It's specifically 35mm, but will give you a foundation for any format you wish to shoot.

There are plenty of people here that enrolled in the New York Institute of Photography. I'm sure some of them can give you some information in regards to the program.

TwistMyArm said:
There are plenty of people here that enrolled in the New York Institute of Photography. I'm sure some of them can give you some information in regards to the program.