Please help me choose studio lighting!!

sondraleigh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score

I am currently a graphic designer that will be taking product pictures for a catalog that I am designing. My employer is going to put together a studio for me to take these pictures with a digital camera. I have taken studio photos before in college classes, but I've never purchased the equipment. Can you please help me decide what I should look for?

I have found a package that looks appealing. Any pros or cons to these items? Would I need something that's not included here?

1) One Britek HS-500 Professional Studio Strobe 180WS!
2) Three Britek PS-300H Professional Studio Flash Units (150WS)
3) Three Mini Slave Strobes (20WS)
4) Three Custom Snoot, Barndoors, Honeycomb Sets for Mini Strobes
5) Six Britek 2.8 to 6.5 Foot Light stands show me
6) One 1.3 to 3.5 Foot Backlight Stand
7) Two 32" SWhite / Black Reflection Umbrellas
8) One 32" Silver / Gold Reflection Umbrella
9) Four Unique Umbrella Reflectors
10) One Snoot
11) One Honeycomb
12) One set of Barn Doors
13) A Complete Economy Background Support System
14) Three Pan Head Bulb Holders (for AS66 strobes)

Any tips you could give me would be awesome. I'd GREATLY appreciate the help!!

Thanks!!

Ironically I have been looking at a package similar to this and interested in opinions also. Even though I have none to offer right now :oops:

What do you guys got money or something? Jokingly of course. That is definitely a complete set up. With any kind of luck the gear will pay for it's self 10 fold. Do not forget the Minolta light meter.