Portrait Lighting

munday79

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to portraits and lighting I have 2 calumet 335 self contained monostrobes and 2 soft boxes. The problem I'm having is that I'm getting nasty reflections off my subjects' eyes. Is there any way to alleviate the problem? JPG: Photos: "Portrait work" by Michael Munday

um, I believe you referring to the "catch lights" and, usually, portrait photographers WANT those ...

The white balance, flat lighting, and wierd composition are bigger issues.

well yes I do want one or two but not three or four, besides they have a flaring effect to them i'd rather prefer that they were softer

Hi..you're using more that one front light...that's why all the highlights in the eyes....use one frontlight, one light on the background and if you have a third that's your fill light or hair light

The white balance, flat lighting, and wierd composition are bigger issues.

Not to mention the slouched subject, and the improper framing of this image ... :er:

Yes, if you have three lights you need one to illuminate your subject and create the exposure, one to fill in the background and one to fill in the shadows and separate the subject from the background.

Welcome to the forum.

The reflection of the lights in your subject's eyes are called "catch lights'. They are usually something you do want to see, because they give they eyes a sparkle. Eyes without catchlights tend to look dead.

However, you may not want to see too many catchlights, it doesn't look natural. Your example has several catchlights, for example.

Where and if a catchlight appears in the eye, is a simple matter of reflection. The angle of incidence equals the angle of reflection. Basically, the eyes are little round mirrors, and if the angle/position of the lights and the camera match up, you will see them in the eyes. The easy solution is to move the lights so that they don't show up in the eyes.