PP question from a total noob

JillH

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'd like advice on post processing, specifically cropping and saving.

I've been doing only basic processing (exposure, contrast, color correction) and cropping to 8x10 size for printing in the future. But is there a standard size that is best to crop pictures (other than taking out distractions or highlighting the focal point) - 8x10? 5x7? Also, what file format is best for saving the files? If I understand correctly, jpeg format flattens the photo and creates a problem if you want to 'do' anything with the photo's file in the future.

TIA for the advice and patience.

If you're shooting in JPEG, then saving it as a JPEG after PP shouldn't make a difference. Although, each time you do any PP to a JPEG, it starts to lose IQ. I'd suggest shooting in RAW, and doing all your adjusting before you convert it to a JPEG so it doesn't lose any image quality, and also you'll be able to adjust the white balance in PP with a RAW file, so you don't need to worry about getting it correct when you take the photo like you have to if you shoot in JPEG.

Thanks - I can go to raw in the future. Sadly I have several thousand photos already shot in jpeg that I can't reshoot (location).

...is there a standard size that is best to crop pictures (other than taking out distractions or highlighting the focal point) - 8x10? 5x7?

The old school standard sizes are 4x5, 5x7, 8x10, 11x14, and 16x20. 5x7 is a completely different aspect ratio than all the others. 11x14 is also different from all the others, although close to 4:5 aspect ratio. It will be easiest to find frames in these sizes, and people are familiar with these sizes.

35mm film and most DSLRs have a 2:3 aspect ratio, which would be: 4x6, 5x7.5, 6x9, 8x12, 10x15, 12x18, 16x24, 20x30, etc... without cropping. Although these sizes sound less common it's not to hard to find frames and pre-cut mats in these sizes.