Practice Senior Picture

keith foster

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.keithdewey3.smugmug.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just started learning to take portraits and since I am a high school teacher I have convinced a few seniors to let me take some shots of them for practice.
I am really struggling with poses.

I shot this young lady today and tried the shot where she laying down looking back and over her head. I was on a stool. One softbox constant, florescent light camera left and directed at her face.

At first I thought this was a great shot but after I downloaded it and processed a little in LR I was really disappointed.

The hotspot on her forehead was a bummer and I never really got her hands/arms in a good position.

I would really appreciate some C&C.

4311931947_2e96d08cb4_b.jpg

The hot spot doesn't look that bad. Looks like you can save the detail. Here is a go at it I tried for you..
2copy.jpg

I burned the hot spot with a soft brush at 79 exp. I then dodged the iris and sclera of the eyes a bit and outlined with burn. I then did a surface blur and masked the eyes. Then a high pass with blend mode on soft. The eyes may be a bit over processed for most peoples taste, but the people I shoot always seem to like it. I also adjusted the levels for more contrast... may be a skin tone that you don't like. I wouldn't try to burn the forehead more than that... there may be other methods to fix using stamp.

Last edited:
so for the C&C on your image.

Poses are a hard thing to come up with on the spot. I would recommend googling other senior portraits. I am working on a pose chart that I am going to keep with me when I am shooting and can't think of anything.

some things I have learned...

- if it bends, bend it
- females should tilt there head to low shoulder when seated
- females hands should be straighter than males, but not against there sides