Pregnancy Session

tedfoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey folks,

Thanks for taking a moment to look. Let me know what you think. C&C appreciated.

Canon 20d with 50mm 1.8.

$IMG_1272-41.jpg

$untitled-18.jpg

I'm no pro, but on picture #2, I would have opened up the aperture more to blur out the background. As it is now, my eye doesn't quite separate the subject from the background, and the background is somewhat distracting.

Good call. I felt the same way. I've been paranoid about my DoF being TOO shallow lately after I botched some and the bokeh got out of hand. Thus leaving my aperture higher and not getting enough background separation, as you said.

I'll dial it in one of these days. Thanks for the words!

Tedfoto -

I've been through the same thing - I used to shoot way too open and I missed a ton of good shots because of it. Now when shooting my kids I am usually around f/4, assuming my background is a decent distance behind them. I've found this to be a good aperture for a lot of my shots.

Were you using any fill light for the 2nd photo? I can see the sun shining slightly behind her lighting up her hair and "carving" out her silhouette on the left side, but I don't see any harsh light on her, and her face and body is exposed properly. Is this just how the lighting happened or did you have a reflector or anything?

I have absolutely no clue how to make good portraits in anything other than overcast conditions. I am just starting trying to shoot people in harsh outdoor light but I don't know what I'm doing yet.

Good call. I felt the same way. I've been paranoid about my DoF being TOO shallow lately after I botched some and the bokeh got out of hand. Thus leaving my aperture higher and not getting enough background separation, as you said.

I'll dial it in one of these days. Thanks for the words!