prints and megapixel help

weston

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to photography and am pondering weather to go digital or not. I am an abstract painter and work on large canvases. I have read that digital prints cannot be large and that film is the only way to produce quality black and white prints at 4x6 ft or so.

I have also read a 25 megapixel camera will produce close to the same quality as 35mm film. I need any and all input. Thank you.

Weston

If this is something that will be viewed close up, and not just from a distance, I have a feeling you might require a medium format (if not large format). But I would like to hear others opinions as well if someone is versed in this.

You have heard some truth! A 21.1MP camera can pretty much do what a 35mm film camera can do, for the most part (assuming we are taking B&W and not color where digital really lacks). I recently did some serious math and here is what I came up with:

Ilford Delta 100 film has a LP/MM (Lines Per mm) resolution of 160, that translates out to 3840x5443 pixels, very close to the 3744x5616 21.1MP of the Canon 1Ds MIII. This of course assumes no loss through the glass, filters, a perfect exposure, and a rock solid tripod getting the absolutely best image possible, which never happens.

Following that math, the maximum dot-for-dot enlargement possible is about 12x18 inches on a 300dpi printer (most common). Medium format (lets assume 6x6) can deliver 8504x8504, or a maximum enlargement of about 28x28 inches. Stepping up to 4x5 will get you in the neighborhood of 48x60 inches. These all assume dot-for-dot, no enlargement, point blank viewing distances.

Now different films have different resolutions, Ilford Delta 100 being up at the top, Ecktachrome 100 at about 135lp/mm to give you an idea of range. So to easily answer your question, if you want big, film rules without question.

Allan