Prioritizing purchases

Josh220

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys,
I just ordered a flash (SB-600) and I am trying to figure out what else to get after it comes. First on my list is to get a new tripod, I am just researching various options. After I get that out of the way, maybe you could help me prioritize the most important equipment. So far these are what I have planned:

New body (D300 or D700): Keep in mind I am still learning on my D60
Upgrade my MacBook to a MacBook Pro
Buy editing software after I finish my trials and decide which is best (Aperture vs. Lightroom, Photoshop Elements vs. CS4, etc)
70-200 f/2.8 VR Nikkor lens
24-70 f/2.8 Nikkor lens
12-24 f/4 Nikkor lens
Any types of filters?
Reflectors for portraits?
Extra SD cards (I currently have 2)

Am I missing anything?
I will probably grab a 50mm lens, but I will wait until I get a new body since the autofocus doesn't work on the D60.

It seems you have an extensive and expensive wish list. Best option is to work with what you have at the moment. If you get just the D300 and those lenses, you're talking $7115 (B&H prices), the D700 is another $425, but the 12-24mm is a DX lens. So to get the Holy Trinity in full frame, you have to get the 14-24mm which sets you back another $900 in exchange.

So, work with what you have. New Flash??? How about a shoot through and/or reflective umbrella? Perhaps a 5-in-1 reflector kit. A lightstand and a stand for the reflector with arm?

Have you got a second battery? Have you got plenty of AA batteries for the SB600 and a charger?

Dude, the list is endless for possible gear to get. Set your priorities and get what you need when you need it.