Pro Camera + Gear for under $20k

ThatAudiGuy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there,

New to the forum. So, I am contemplating on selling my car (I have an offer for $22k), as I'll be getting a company car in about two weeks time. I've been an avid photographer for the past 4 years and developed most of what little skill I have, on a Pentax K-3 & Pentax K-3 II with the following lenses:

1. 18-135mm f3.5
2. 50mm f1.4
3 18-35mm f1.8 (Sigma)
4. 50-200mm F4-5.6

All of the above are APS-C lenses.

Over the past 6 months or so, I've also been contemplating on getting into commercial photography, but the equipment and gear costs were holding me back. Now that I have this opportunity, I've been seriously putting some thought into getting some pro-level gear with around $20k at my disposal.

What kind of gear would you get if you were starting from scratch, with in-studio product photography in mind.

Equipment needed:

1. Full-Frame camera + a couple of lenses.
2. Decent lighting equipment.
3. A decent editing rig (Laptop or Desktop)

I've been thinking about the new Pentax K-1 but the disadvantages are outweighing the advantages for me. For example; the K-1 would only shoots at 16 mpix when using DA series lenses. Really outdated video spec, 1080p @ 30fps in 2016 is appalling.

What would you guys get? Any alternatives ideas are welcome too.

Thanks!

I'd get a real job with a regular salary and keep my car! You know what the difference between a professional photographer and a large pizza is, right? The large pizza can feed a family.

Lol, but I am keeping my job, thats part of the reason why I am selling my car as I'll be getting a company car in a couple of weeks. Aaand, I am not married, nor do I have kids.

If it were me? I'd look at a Nikon D750.

That leaves me with $18k. What about lenses, lighting equipment and a PC, lol.