product photography pricing

graigdavis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
My buddy works for a company that makes displays for everything from potato chips to auto shows. The company is looking to have a photographer come in to take pictures of some displays.

What does it cost to have a professional come in to take pictures? How would you give them pricing? by the hour, they buy the picture, etc. Im not a professional but they are impressed with the work they have seen. I wont ask near what a professional would ask.

Congratulations!! :)

Cool!

I really have no idea. I think it can vary quite a bit depending on where you live, anyway. I have a hard time figuring out my own pricing. I would see if you can get some info from local photographers. I don't think it would hurt to ask. The worst they will say is no, and some might be willing to help you figure it out.

This article is related to pricing in the Graphic design world. It could be too broad. Dont know if it might help you, but check it out!

I just got bad news. The company decided to buy a camera and give it a shot them selves. I hope they fail and call me.

Get this, they decided to spend HALF of what they were going to pay me and spend 2 GRAND on a D70. :shock:

I almost got offered 4 grand...

excuse me Im going to go cry. :sad anim:

That sux!!! :?

Only now they get to appreciate that it's not about how much they can drop on a camera, but the person behind the lens.

Idiots. Don't worry, their stuff is going to look like crap, snapshot appeal - and they may be calling you yet. Granted, the price just got severed in half. :x

I dislike ppl who does not have the balls to keep their word! :x

Dont you worry Graig... they might not be worthy enough to have your presence around.

Are you in the job (photography) market right now?

nope. Im a mechanical engineer. I do some photography jobs on the side. Done some family reunions, local bands, sports gatherings, things of the sort.

graigdavis said: