Question about cropping and editing

mojer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new here and about to take the jump from point and shoot to SLR. I will be using photoshop to edit most of my pics. Most of my photos will be 4x6, some will be 8x10 and a very small few will be larger sizes like 16x20 or even 20x30. What specs should I look for in a SLR in order to be able to edit and crop pics of the sizes I have listed (mega pixel, ect)? Thanks

i went through this for awhile, and settled on the nikon D40, i liked the nikon interface a lot, so i chose nikon, but the cannons version the rebel xti is a great camera. I bought into the whole Megapixel debate, but the more i read, i went with the nikon d40, 6 MP VS the d40x 10 MP, because you can get great print quality from bigger then you are looking for, and the MP has little do do with it. (so i read) im no pro, but love my d40, as most people on here do, great camera, great price. GOOD LUCK

Most any of the entry level DSLR's will give you that capability.

So would a 6MP SLR allow me to edit and crop pics that are 8x10 in size?

Yes, I would think that would be no problem. When you get your camera, you will set your default resolution and based on that value, you will get a certain picture size in Photoshop (if thats what your using to do you edits). For instance, I have a 10 mp camera and I have my resolution set to 300ppi. My photos come in at about 9x13.

Now you can crop the picture or you can resize it. Cropping is normally done to improve the composition, not to resize it. In photoshop, you have several options for resizing. Some options will change the resolutions while others do not. If you need to upsize your photo and maintain your resolution for printing, there is a process called resampling that is used. It can get a little complicated, so you should do some reading on this based on the photo editor you chose.