Question // Noob to lenses // Automotive photography

eurolicious

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone I have been at this quest for the past two week and I cannot seem to figure out which lens to go with when I buy my D5200.

I started learning to take pictures of my car with a D40 using both an 18-55mm Nikkor VR and a 55-200 Nikkor VR.

Now I am not a fan of the pictures I take with the 18-55mm as I feel like it does not give me the bokeh/blurred effect on the background I like to see.

Below is the way are a few of my favorite pictures of my previous and then my current car.

Here are two photos of my previous car using the D40 and the 55-200mm lens (not edited):

9812185966_fd11177fe8_b.jpg

9812086066_213a8a451c_b.jpg

So not too long ago I borrowed a D5100 and used my 55-200mm lens to take these photos (not edited):

9665558412_f8a4a1456e_b.jpg

9662324559_b9eb6449c8_b.jpg

9665561760_6ab29d161f_b.jpg

9662332955_acc9030f94_b.jpg

I have come across the following options, mind you that I already have the 18-55mm (is not autofocusing as well as it should be) and the 55-200mm lens (both lenses were purchased with my D40 many years ago:

1. D5200 with 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S DX Nikkor Zoom Lens
  2. D5200 with 50mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Nikkor
  3. D5200 with 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Nikkor
  4. D5200 with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX VR Nikkor Zoom Lens

Thank you very much in advance for everyone's help,

Thiago

You definitely want a quicker aperture. The 18-105mm is a convenience lens: It will replace your 18-55, it will provide you with sharper images, but it won't do much more for you than that. Basically anything your 55-200mm does at 55mm, the 18-105mm will do too. The 18-55mm VR isn't worth looking at, at all; it's a waste of money if you already currently have an 18-55 non-VR that you are graduating from.