Question: Photography lighting for "do it yourselfers&q

ksutton

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello! I just came across this forum and thought I would try my question here.

I love to take pictures (mostly of my baby) and edit them in photoshop..however I can no matter what come up with good lighting in my home. there's always shadows or the lights too bright or it makes him look a funny color..ect.. I am not a professional or even an amature (sp) but I took my son to Sears to have his 3 month pictures taken and I ended up spending 140 dollars!!!!! I was so mad so i came home and took some of my own. I use bedsheets as a background and just the overhead light for light and then I edit them and they turned out 200X better than the ones at Sears that left me eating ham sandwiches for the next 2 weeks!

My question is: Is there any type of regular lamp or bulb I can buy from just a reg. store that would give me a better picture?? I can't spend hundreds of dollars on a light but I would like to get something that's better than the overhead light.

Here is a link to some of the before and after pictures I took myself. The last one you can see the problem I have with shadows to the left of his face. I could edit it out on photoshop but I don't have time and I can never get it right.

http://home.insightbb.com/~ksutton/before_and_after_photos.htm

Thank you soooooooo much!
:)

Welcome to the Forum. Cute kid.

First off, I think the shadow behind his face could be solved by moving him farther away from the background and/or moving the light higher/to the side.

What camera gear are you using? If you can attach an accessory flash that will allow you to bounce the light off of the ceiling...that might help. If you can have the flash away from the camera that will help even more.