Question please.

kristyj

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all, I am new to the forum. I am a freelance photographer, been taking portraits of people for a couple of years now. I started off with a Canon Powershot then up-graded just last week to a Nikon 5100 and love it but here is my question because I am very curious. I am gonna post a photo and I would love to know what makes pictures turn out this way. Is it the camera? Or just editing? I use Adobe Light Room which is outstanding with my photography. I am working on learning how to work with Adobe Photoshop. I am just wondering how to get pics to look like this, editing, lens they use or just the camera itself. And if my Nikon can actually have pictures coming out like this if there's a special setting. I love how clear the D5100 pics come out by all means, just curious about how to make my pics look more like the one below.
40434_418537011713_168644141713_5222090_7542313_n.jpg

You may want to be more specific instead of "just this way" or "look like this." What particular characteristics are you referring to?

All the factors you listed (editing, lens, lighting, etc) play into the final photo.

Maybe also post a few examples of you own work for more input.

So is this your image or is this what you would like your images to look like?
Post one of your favorite images and let us take it from there.
-
Shoot well, Joe

Is the pix you posted one you took? If not, it's a violation of TPF rules to post someone else's work. Just saying........