Questions about some screw ups...

JeffieLove

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
#1:
025.jpg

When you are shooting into a setting sun, is there any way to get rid of that glare other than just not shooting towards the sun? Like any settings you can change or anything?

#2:
027.jpg

I think this one came out okay but I know there are some flaws... It's a picture of a baby tree (sorry, don't know the official name lol) in my yard and I took a picture of it from near the top down towards the snow... I am thinking maybe I should have focused in on the branches that were closest to me instead of the branches in the middle?

I am still learning, so yes these pics are up for serious C&C or just advice on how I can do things differently to make things look better... Believe me when I say I am a BEGINNER!!!

Oh, and these were shot with a Canon XS...

The first shot was shot at 1/320 (shutter speed I think) and f/14 (that was before I realized the aperture was so high), and I believe ISO at that point was at 1000...

The second shot was at 1/320, f/14 (again before I realized the aperture was high...) and a lower ISO I think...

Both shots were done with the exposure compensation at +1... Someone here told me when shooting snow to shoot "a little to the right" and i figured out that was what they meant (the exposure comp) :)

I'm getting there... I think ;)

When shooting toward a bright light source, it's common to get flare like that. If you are shooting with the light actually in the frame, there isn't much you can do about it...but in this case, you probably could have block it out. A lens hood might have worked, but you could also have held out your hand (or anything really) to block the sunlight from hitting the lens directly. You would probably be able to see the difference, right in the viewfinder.

Any kind of suggestions or anything on the second one??

I'm sorry again if I am wasting anyones time.