Questions on Starting Up as a Professional Photographer

Would you try to shoot for the moon if you were me?

• Absolutely!

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Maybe find a full time job and keep it as a hobby.

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • Go for it, but find a part time job as steady income.

Votes: 1 33.3%

• Total voters

Shelbsie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

My husband and I have been contemplating a move where I would have to get a new job. People have told me many times that I should be a photographer for a living, and I love doing it, and would love to do it as a career. I was wondering if y'all could tell me, yes go for it, or no, don't go for it...or go for it, but get a part time job to make ends meet. I'm very scared about it not being a steady income. The town is a smaller town: Population: 2,299. There are several surrounding cities to reach out to as well, including one slightly larger: Population: 41,889. I have a very...VERY limited budget... so I will have to start with what I have which is a Canon T3i and a 50mm f/1.8...the kit lens 24-70 mm... and a 70-200 mm f/2.8. I have done quite a bit for family and friends and a few random people through word of mouth. My question is, would you go for it? Also, what would be the best way to get it started? (attached a few of my pictures to help you judge if I should go for it)
!1!.jpg
!1!a.jpg
!1!b.jpg

If you need a steady income any self-employment will let you down in the first few years. Not only do you need the kit (you haven't mentioned lighting!) you also need to advertise in some way to get the business in. New businesses frequently make a loss in the first year until you have developed a good enough reputation to both get enough customers and the ability to charge enough.