Random Beginner Question

JTG40cal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So as the thread title notes, I am new to digital photography (http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/photography-beginners-forum-photo-gallery/170022-noob.html) and was just wondering, how much does post-production count for a lot of the amazing pictures I see on here? I mean aside from the obvious natural talent (composition, framing, subject matter, etc.). Is having the talent, a more than capable body, and the best lenses enough without digital enhancement? Should I be thinking about programs such as photoshop (after learning the basics of course)? Here are a couple examples of what I am talking about (from the June POTM thread):

http://www.intempusphotography.com/photos/570263501_h3wqG-XL.jpg

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k72/mudpie_01/WindyPath2.jpg

These are stunning pictures, but how much of the final product due to graphical enhancements (which is another remarkable skill entirely)?

Last edited:
Note: TPF Terms of Service explicitly prohibit the posting of images that are not your own. You have to link to them instead.

The first one belongs to Tharmsen, and AFAIK, he's accomplishing that particular look with a relatively harsh top light. I think it was an AlienBee with a shade and white diffuser on it, but my memory is faulty. That said though, I think creative lighting was the major factor in that image. PP work too, perhaps, but maybe Tharmsen will chime in on just how much PP he did.

Photoshop is a useful tool to have in the kit. For say, models, there's only so much you can cover-up with powder, clever lighting and angles. Sometimes some airbrushing is necessary if you want to give them a perfect complexion.