Random pics. c&c please

ByeTheWay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
smoothest road for fifty miles, and its outside the petrochemical plant. funny that. no tripod because im not sure if i'm actually allowed to take photos lol.
petrolbeauty.jpg

mallard duck on takeoff.
mallardtakeoff.jpg

winters here, get them out.
winterscoming.jpg

i'm still new to all this so your c&c is needed please, thanks.

OK, my suggestions are these.
1) post one - or maybe two - pictures in one thread, and they should have something in common so that what people say about them makes sense for both. We don't mind multiple posts. Having multiple images, particularly random ones, means that your critique will be spread out and people will ignore the tough ones and concentrate on the easy ones.

2) allow editing on your images. Sometimes, it's incredibly easier to show a suggested change than talk about it.

First impressions: (Please number your images as this makes it a lot easier for a reviewer to refer to them - thanks.)

First one - quite underexposed - I like the idea of night time photos of an industrial complex, just make sure that it is not uniquely identifiable.

Second one - need to up the shutter speed as most of this picture is quite blurry, or possibly out of focus. If you are going to take pics of birds taking off, or landing, try and do it so that they fly across your field of view, that way you have a side-shot and don't end up with the east side of a west-bound bird, if you know what I mean.

Third one - a prime example of a scene that has a dynamic range that is larger than your sensor can capture. You end up with a sky that is overexposed, or worse, blown out, and a foreground - the boats and boat area that is underexposed. You can try dodging the boats and the foreground area to lighten them up to see if that will bring out more detail, but this may only work well if you shot this one in raw.

WesternGuy