Raw vs Jpeg Article - Unusual twist

Ballistics

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
This goes against pretty much everything I've learned so far. What do you vets think about this? It's an about.com article.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
There is so much misinformation about RAW and JPG that even many professional photographers and graphics designers are confused. I won't name names, but there are several so-called "experts" who spout misinformation on the web and at seminars, and they are sponsored by brand name companies.
I'm a full time professional photographer. I work with JPG files every day. I never shoot Raw for my day-to-day work. That does not mean everyone should work just like me, but you should know some facts and forget the fiction.

1) If you're working with images that are vitally critical, shoot RAW: any major exposure or color correction is easier to make.

2) No, Raw files will not be sharper than the JPG files, and anyone who says they will doesn't know what they're talking about.

3) The secret to using JPG files is: Set a proper White Balance, make a proper exposure.

If you are using Auto White Balance (AWB), you may find your color is not consistent from one file to the next, so set a custom white balance. Read your camera's manual to do this — it's not very involved on most of today's cameras.

Once you set a custom white balance for your studio work, you will not have to change it when working in the studio. Most cameras today permit you to have 2 or 3 custom white balances. Outdoors (or even in the studio) a product called the ExpoDisc can make this an easy process.

If you include a gray/white/black card in the first scene, you can set your color balance and density in Photoshop on the first image, then apply that curve to each following image. Much faster than RAW.