Raw vs JPEG

bs0604

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am relatively new to photography and HDR & thus my question is probably basic knowledge. I was reading an HDR site which said you should shoot the bracketed photos in RAW and then save to your computer as JPEGs and then upload the JPEG pics to Photomatix to process. Why would you want to change the RAW to JPEG prior to putting in to Photomatix? And I would think that shooting in RAW and then saving to the computer as JPEG would negate the advantage of having shot in RAW in the first place?

I haven't used Photomatix in a while but I don't think it will read RAW files.

I just started doing HDR and using Photomatix a couple of days ago but as far as I know I have been shooting in RAW and staying in this format while uploading to Photomatix. (Acutally it is NEF which I believe is Nikon's RAW equivalent)

Could be. Like I said, it's been a while.

I will mention that Nikon doesn't always release the full file structure details of their NEF files so some RAW converters do a much better job than others. If you have one that will do it right that would probably be the best way to save your files. Also, save the files at minimum compression or use TIF for the best quality. JPEG can be a very lossy format.

I am relatively new to photography and HDR & thus my question is probably basic knowledge. I was reading an HDR site which said you should shoot the bracketed photos in RAW and then save to your computer as JPEGs and then upload the JPEG pics to Photomatix to process. Why would you want to change the RAW to JPEG prior to putting in to Photomatix? And I would think that shooting in RAW and then saving to the computer as JPEG would negate the advantage of having shot in RAW in the first place?