Recommend a camera - don't worry, I'll be specific!

Girl Sweat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi :D

I've been pursuing photography casually for several years, always borrowing friends' DSLRs and not having my own. I've decided to buy one.

Now, one of my friends had a Canon Rebel (not sure exactly which model, but one of the entry level versions) and the other had a Nikon which was at the same level (d60 or whatever). I always preferred the Canon. So I looked up some reviews and found that the new Rebel T2i is getting good ones, but it's a little bit beyond my desired price range and has video capabilities which I do not want.

Also, I'm not interested in terribly high MP numbers - I favor quality over MP.

I am an architect and am buying this camera because I think architectural photography is in a dismal state. I will mostly be photographing architecture, which, for me, requires low-light capabilities (night-time city shots).

Also, I'm not set on buying new - I just want the best camera for me for the best price.

So, any ideas? Thanks!

Remember:

>Willing to buy used
>Preference for Canon from personal experience, BUT willing to hear your opinions.
>Do NOT need video capability
>Low-light performance important
>$500 is the sweet spot, but I'm a student so if possible less is great!
>DO NOT need continuous shooting (a high FPS)
>DO NOT need live view
>DO NOT need extremely high MP counts

EDIT:
Also, should I buy just the body and opt for a nicer lens? I will probably need wider than "standard" angle because of the nature of arch photography

Last edited:
Quote: "I favor quality over MP"

Buy a Nikon then.

Buy a Nikon then.

would you be willing to qualify your statement?

i'm willing to buy a nikon
but this is the type of statement i'm trying NOT to base my decision on

Welcome to the forum.

You left out what your budget is (besides saying that the T2i is too expensive).