Recommended Metadata Editors

korinkite

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys
I'm a computer animator that takes photos for inspiration, anatomical, and texture reference.

I'm looking for a batch photo editor where I can quickly add tags, write comments and idea notes (REALLY IMPORTANT), and organize the content of photos for the sake of being able to search for it when necessary later. I'd also like the ability to exclude search results or add requirements like multiple tags in a single search (for example, writing something broad like spikey when I really need reference for "spikey" and "plant" so I don't have to search through photos of porcupines and cave rocks).
I tried using EverNote but I could never get the damned thing to work properly and the added advantage of syncing between devices was never an incentive enough to deal with those frustrations.

A free program would be nice but I am willing to pay. Either is fine. What do you guys recommend for your photo work? Thank you for your reply in advance!

Picasa will handle the tagging end. What photo software do you have now? You may be overlooking what you already own. Also OSX or Windows?

Hi gryphonslair99, I work in Windows and Mac (but prefer Windows). Tagging is important, batch renaming I already have down using Bulk Rename Utility.

I've tried our Bridge but it didn't seem to have the right tools for adding comments and notes that I could find easily. Might be screwing up something there.

Also, 480Sparky, I need to work in batch (working with hundreds of photos and panoramas that I'll be taking) and I see that batch tools haven't been integrated into PhotoME yet. I tried it out anyway, doesn't look like a good fit. Thank you for the suggestion though!

Has anyone tried out Photo Expression Media? I can't find if it has any tag/comment batch features.
Expression Media | Photometadata.org

What are you using to ingest the images now?