Registering Copyright

Alleh Lindquist

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.allehphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I figured I would just explain how to register copyright of photographs incase anyone does not know. It is very simple these days just go to www.copyright.gov create an account on the eCO by clicking on the forms link on the main page. Once you have an account you locate the Register a new claim link fill out the form, make the payment and upload or send in hard copies of your images. You can upload your photographs as jpg format in a zip file or send them in on a CD/DVD. That pretty much sums up the main idea. They have a help system you can find most questions answered also.

as a musician, I can tell you there is a free way of copyrighting your work (no matter what it is) that is, on the day you create the image, or images, burn them to a disk (with exif data included) and mail it to yourself, make sure the envelope is post marked (dated by the post office) when yo receive the mail, dont open it, just file it... then BOOM your work is copyrighted.. if someone tries to steal your work, cause they find it online or something.. you have the orignals.. and if you take them to court, take your envelope..

as a musician, I can tell you there is a free way of copyrighting your work (no matter what it is) that is, on the day you create the image, or images, burn them to a disk (with exif data included) and mail it to yourself, make sure the envelope is post marked (dated by the post office) when yo receive the mail, dont open it, just file it... then BOOM your work is copyrighted.. if someone tries to steal your work, cause they find it online or something.. you have the orignals.. and if you take them to court, take your envelope..
Um...what?

Copyright is not an opt-in process and hasn't been since the 1970s. When you create a work, it's copyrighted. No silly rigmaroles required.

Um...what?