Rejected Again at a local art fair: suggestions & advice please

padrepaul77

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Tried to enter in these two pictures to a local art fair. Was hoping at least one would make the cut, but they didn't go for either one. They took about 40 pieces of art out of 180 submitted or so, so I don't know what I was up against and how much was painting and sculpture vs. photography.

These kinds of things are subjective, and personally, I like these pictures. I'm not a pro, just enjoy the hobby seriously and it would be nice to be able to sell images...but there are so many photographers out there.

Full time I'm a Catholic priest, so I'm not looking obviously for a second job. But I would like to get into local competitions, and sell some images...I won't lie, it would be nice to get a few extra dollars (how quickly I blew through cash buying gear :eek:) but it would just be fun to bring enjoyment to someone who bought the image to brighten up a room or office or something.

Here are the two I submitted. I really enjoy summer, and these are of the Minnesota State Fair. I thought they might get in and put people in a more summer kind of mood.

I tend to shoot a lot of outdoorsy kind of stuff; landscape; leaves; lakes; or street shots...maybe I'm just missing something?

I don't want to sound too depressed; it's only my second time trying to enter. I just want to take it to the next level so to speak. I've got my gear now...and I shoot things of interest to me, and try to catch things. Maybe I just need to give it more time. I'm also joining a local photo club.

Any thoughts on these shots would be appreciated. The darker one was shot using the "pinhole" effect on the camera. They might not have liked 'em, but I do. They aren't great, but they make me think of something I really like. Could they have been better though? What kinds of things should I be looking for that are more interesting to people?

Thanks,