Release question

bellarougedesign

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Okay, before I get started let me confess first that I am a total "newb" to this forum. Secondly, I would like to say that as an artist and amateur photographer that I fully respect photographers rights.
Now - I have a sticky question.

I am a body painter. The only way to preserve my art form is through the use of photography. I often take my own images but recently I have begun work on a series of fine arts body paintings for a gallery exhibition of my work to open summer 2011. It is very important to me that information about the show and the images stay confidential until the opening night of the show. Also, it is important to me that the images not be sold. Generally speaking I would just take my own images, but I have the opportunity to work with some great friends (photographers) on this project and would love to extend them the opportunity to shoot the project for their own portfolio expansion (plus also, it allows me the opportunity to focus more on my work)

Basically, I am a little unclear on what my rights are as an artist/painter working with a photographer. Here are my basic needs:

1. Photographer and models to agree to keep all images confidential until after the shows opening (actually, the models wont even be provided images until after the shows opening - all of the models are aware of
this already.)
2. Photographer and models to agree not to sell the images in any capacity without my express written consent. Furthermore they agree that the images will only be used as portfolio pieces unless express written consent is given.
3. Photographer to agree to provide me the images, both edited and unedited (this just making the assumption that they will edit) in a reasonable amount of time after the shoot date to allow me to choose which image will be included in the show.