Replacing my 18-55 Kit lens with 17-55 2.8 is this a good switch??

Nikanon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I bought my D7000 about a month ago and I wasn't sure what lens to buy for it since I am new to photography. At the time I wasn't sure if I wanted a nice prime lens like the 35mm or 50mm so I bought a used 18-55 to see what range I used most. After a months use with the 18-55 I really liked the zoom range on it and found myself using all focal lengths on and was a handy walk around lens except for low light conditions where I had to use a flash to help out. So now I think I'm ready to upgrade this lens for a better one that will take better pictures than the 18-55.

Since I like the 18-55 kit lens I was looking for another lens around the same focal length and I was looking into getting the 17-55 2.8 but I noticed that it doesn't have VR on it. I mainly take portrait pictures of my kids so I don't really think the VR will be an issue for what I want to take photographs of. Right now I currently have a 55-200 zoom lens besides my 18-55 in my bag. I don't have a single prime lens so I was wondering if the 17-55 2.8 will suit my needs without having say a 35mm 1.8 or 50mm 1.8/1.4 prime lens?? Also if anybody here has the 17-55 2.8 how fast does this lens focus and is it worth the $$$??

Also, I am not interested in buying any 3rd party lenses since I am very skeptical about IQ performance being a hit and miss with certain brands.

Last edited:
Nikon 17-55 is the top-of-the-line Nikon-branded DX lens. It will give you the best results of any DX zoom. It will be heavier and much larger than your 18-55. You can't go wrong with it, though.

As for zoom vs prime, the primes will both work better in low light. But, won't offer you the convenience of the zoom.

Mark