Returning to the photographic world

justiceischeap

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
iso640.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Heya, I'm Justice and I'm returning to the photographic world with an absence so long, I've forgotten everything I ever learned in high school photography class.

In real life, I'm a web designer/developer, so I have some understanding of composition (but have a difficult time correlating that to photography). F stops confuse me because they're backwards (it's not logical).

Anyway, before Thanksgiving, I finally stopped comparison shopping (had been doing so for about 5 years) and took the plunge. I purchased a Nikon D5100 'cause I have all Nikon film camera's so I figure I'd already invested in that brand with the lenses I could reuse. Unfortunately, I've not been able to get out much with the DSLR (been sick) but shoot daily with my iPhone--figure shooting is better than not shooting.

I love the stories photography can tell. I like contrasty, sometimes over-processed looks (but not a fan of HDR), I love B&W, I love good street and urban landscape photography and startling portraiture. And that's pretty much me in a nutshell.

:thumbup: Welcome to TPF! :camera:

F-stops are logical if you understand that what they describe is the size of the lens opening (aperture) relative to the lens focal length.
The first thing to realize is that f/4 is a fraction. so, F/4 is a bigger number than f/8 is.

The little f is a variable number - the focal length of the lens.

A 100 mm lens set to f/4 has a 25 mm lens aperture diameter (100 mm divided by 4 = 25 mm). A 50 mm lens set to f/4 has a 12.5 mm diameter lens aperture (50 mm divided by 4 = 12.5 mm)

Here is where most people get lost. A 'stop' is a doubling or a halving, but doubling or halving the lens aperture diameter does not let in 2x or 1/2x as much light.