Review: Lowpro ProTactic 450AW

wamason

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My first review... be gentle... :)

Roughly three months ago I purchased a Lowpro ProTactic 450AW from Amazon. I work in IT, and I'm always on the move so I wanted something that would hold my notebook and accessories, and most of my camera kit.

<<I'm not sure about posting images other than my own here, so here is the link to the stock photo from Lowpro's website: Lowpro ProTactic 450AW>>

My requirements were:
1. Hold my notebook
Lenovo T450S 14" notebook
AC and DC power adapters
Wireless mouse
Portable hard drives and flash drives
Various cables.
2. Hold my camera kit
Nikon D750 body and charger/extra battery
Nikon 24-120mm VR f/4 lens with hood
Nikon 50mm f/1.8 lens with hood
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 VC lens with hood
Yongnuo YN-568EX Flash and small diffuser
Pelican SD card case
Cleaning supplies
3. Compact enough to use as a carry on when flying (overhead or under seat)

What's in the box

The backpack
1x waist belt
2x tripod straps
1x tripod boot
1x water bottle holder
1x accessory pouch

Exterior

The ProTactic 450AW exterior seems to be well constructed, and easily holds its shape unloaded. It's not rigid like a hard case--I wouldn't try sitting on it--but it is stiff enough to support my gear inside without sagging or putting stress on my camera or lenses. The outside material is composed primarily of several different types of nylon. The shoulder straps are sufficiently padded. It's comfortable for me to carry around, although I haven't been on any wilderness excursions yet. The part of the backpack that rests against your back and shoulders has very thick, perforated padding. The waist belt has two small pockets on either side, but I removed it first thing as I don't use it.