Rodeo and Horse Events

OnTheFly7

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
I want to start by saying the following; I joined The Photo Forum due to the number of times it kept popping up during some of my searches on various topics. The threads I read were good, the responses informative and there seemed to be a lack of the typical forum non-sense.

Here is my dilemma:

I am a fly fisherman and waterfowl hunter and I bring a camera every where. I started to get real serious about two years ago, when it comes to photography. I am still learning but my goal is to start my own small business and combine it with web and media design. I have taken a HUGE interest in shooting rodeos and mounted shooting events. I'm from the west, I enjoy the west and the western lifestyle is still alive and well (meaning real ranches, real riders and folks who are real).

Currently, I am shooting with a D800 and I love the camera. The issue is, it is not fast enough for these events, although part of it is the glass. The next event, I will be renting a 70-200, f2.8 and I am sure that will help, to an extent. I am thinking of a new body as well, the D300s. Ideally, I would like to purchase the D300s and the 70-200, but I can not swing both at the same time. My question is, despite being an older body, would you get the D300s with the MB-D10 grip and rent lenses when needed, even though that body is older? Or, would you continue shooting the 800 and experiment with lenses and wait, and wait, and wait for the 300s replacement (which will cost a fair bit more I'm sure)?

The plan, if I get the 300s will be to put the 70-200, 2.8 on it and use the 800 for non-arena shots such as folks getting ready to compete, of scenery, of random people, etc.

I welcome your thoughts and thank you!