RPS Studio 1000 Strobe malfunction

Discussion in 'Lighting and Hardware' started by Flipkitty, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. Flipkitty

    Flipkitty TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA, USA
    I have a set of RPS Studio 1000 Strobe lights that I made the bad decision of taking on location with me ( they usually stay in my studio). I plugged them in and took a test shot and one of the lights popped - extraordinarily loudly! And a puff of white smoke emanated up from the center of the can. The fuse and the bulbs seem fine. Has anyone experienced this? I hate to ship it off somewhere and pay a fortune for something that I may be (fingers crossed) able to fix myself.
    Any information or experience would be greatly appreciated!
    -Robyn


     
  2. tirediron

    tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    45,748
    Likes Received:
    14,778
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You let the magic smoke out????? :( Appearances can be deceiving; use a multi-meter to test the flash-tube just to be sure it is okay, but from your description, I'm guessing that the power capacitor let go. It shouldn't be too difficult to replace if you can open up the head. Hopefully it will have the values written right on it, and it's just a matter of sourcing a replacement and installing it. Good luck.
     
  3. Flipkitty

    Flipkitty TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA, USA
    Thank you so much John! I will open her up and take a look under the hood. Well, hopefully my husband will understand all the anyway ;)
     
  4. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,901
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Be vary careful when dealing with capacitors. They are made to store electricity, and if there is any stored charge in it, you might be in for quite a shock if you try to mess with it.

    That's what they say, anyway.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. MLeeK

    MLeeK TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6,761
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    NY
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    They aren't a flash, they're continuous, right? Cheaper to replace than repair.
     
  6. tirediron

    tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    45,748
    Likes Received:
    14,778
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Good point. My post was made on the presumption that someone who will attempt this has a basic electrical knowledge. If the capacitor has in fact let go, it is very unlikely that it will retain any charge, HOWEVER, it's always better to be safe than sorry, and you should discharge it. To do this, disconnect the capacitor's leads (wires) and use a tool with an insulated handle (I like a screwdriver) to directly both of the capictor's terminals together (short them out). If there is only one terminal, than connect that to the metal case of the capacitor.
     
  7. tirediron

    tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    45,748
    Likes Received:
    14,778
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    But not nearly as much fun, as interesting, or as satisfying.
     
  8. Flipkitty

    Flipkitty TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA, USA


    They aren't continuous - they are strobe, and they were really expensive! Hubby is off tomorrow - we're going to very very carefully take a look at it then :) Thank you for your words of caution!!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

rps studio 1000 strobe