SD question

Turnerea

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just ordered my first DSLR (Sony A300), and realized I didn't get any film with it... so now I need to go memory card shopping. I'm going to be mainly shooting sports/action- bike races- so I'm concerned about the speed, especially since I'm new to this and will likely depend on snagging a ton of shots at first to make sure I frame things well enough.

Do I need to shell out the $$ to get the SDHC? Is the fps that the camera can shoot limited by the write speed, or is it stored in some sort of RAM on the camera, and then shoved onto the memory card? I'm planning on starting out by shooting just M or L JPG- so about 4-4.5MB per file.

Opinions on this 8GB SDHC card for cheappp?

Thanks for your thoughts!
Erik

Is the fps that the camera can shoot limited by the write speed, or is it stored in some sort of RAM on the camera, and then shoved onto the memory card?
The way I understand it, the camera's 'buffer' is what determines how many shots you can fire off continuously. At some point, the camera's buffer may fill up (more likely when shooting RAW)...at which point, the camera will slow down while it waits for files in the buffer to be written to the card....which is where a faster card will help.

So, a faster card will help you, if you are shooting the camera like a machine gun and filling the buffer. But if you only take shots one at a time or in short bursts, then a regular card will probably be OK. Although a slow card may cause problems. It all depends on your shooting style.

Also, unless shooting long bursts is what you are doing...I'd suggest shooting in RAW, rather than JPEG. The forum is filled with other posts on that issue.