Second Portrait new home studio. C&C please.

jwbryson1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Please offer comments on this portrait. I shot it with a single SB-700 bounced inside an umbrella at a 45 degree angle. The light is slightly harsh so I will need to move the umbrella farther away from the subject. I used a solid white corrugated plastic piece to reflect light on her left cheek.

C&C welcome.

Thanks.

TaylorPortraitNo4Nov2011_.jpg

I'm no portrait expert, but I think you need a hair light. Maybe a silver reflector would work better than white?

Moving the light away from the subject will not make it less harsh. The closer the light to the subject the softer it is. Think of the sun. You might need to adjust your power. I would shoot throught the umbrella rather than bounce it out. I have found it tends to be softer going through than reflecting.

I'm no portrait expert, but I think you need a hair light. Maybe a silver reflector would work better than white?

I was just saying the same thing to my wife. I only have 1 speedlight which limits what I can do. I was thinking of getting a couple of Vivitars or Nissin's or other off brand flashes since I'm on a limited budget, but I first need to understand how I can trigger them since they will not work wirelessly with Nikon's CLS.

Thanks for the comment.

Moving the light away from the subject will not make it less harsh. The closer the light to the subject the softer it is. Think of the sun. You might need to adjust your power. I would shoot throught the umbrella rather than bounce it out. I have found it tends to be softer going through than reflecting.

Thanks. I am going to do some more portraits this afternoon on my wife and 7 month old daughter, and I'm going to convert to the shoot through umbrella and see how it looks.

Thanks for the comment.