Group portrait lighting

Nwcid

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.jbnokesphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Apparently this is the week for my questions, and this has nothing to do with my thread on wide angles lenses.

I got approached to do sports pictures for a small local school. While I am developing my business, this is not something I had sought out as I have no experience here yet. However, their previous person moved, they are not interested in another photographer that has offered (I am not sure why), I am willing to try since I was asked.

I will be doing team and individual photos. Depending on the sport, some of them will be in the gym and others outdoors on the field. I am pretty confident in the pictures on the field in natural lighting. Most of the groups will be 6-12 kids, the most I think will be about 18, so I am not working with large groups.

I am concerned about lighting in the gym. I have shot sports in action in this gym before and if using flash, reflections on the floor are harsh. I will be shooting with my D-850 and likely either my 50mm 1.8, 85mm 1.8 or 24-70mm 2.8 depending on the need. For lighting I currently have 2 choices, I have a Nikon SB-700 with a 6x5" soft box or I have 3 SV-Q60 lights with 6.5' stands and umbrellas (which I have never used, I got them NIB from a friend). I am willing to spend some money if needed, but not willing to spend for a full lighting set up.

I have considered getting a taller stand so I can get the strobe a big higher and a larger soft box.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. I have about a month before the first shoot.

Last edited: