Selective focus (Blurred background)

Great bokeh in those photos!

It's all about angle of view I think. For example lets say you have 100 christmas lights. If you use a wide angle you will see lets say all 100 lights on the background. Then the bokeh will be tiny almost like small dots of lights. If you use longer zoom you will see only a fraction of these ligths so your bokeh are much bigger.

The author was doing well until he created a new photographic term out of thin air: "Perspective Compression". A nice try, but not a recognized term...yet another self-taught shooter trying to tackle a technical subject he's unqualified to handle writing about. Still, the examples are nicely shot and shown. He did however, manage to get the difference between shallow depth of field and "bokeh" correct, so that was nice.
It would have been nice if he had addressed the term background blur, and how background blur is greater with telephoto lenses, due to their larger ACTUAL apertures, even when shot at the same f/stop as shorter lenses. But, those kinds of accurate, technical discussions are more the province of folks like Bob Atkins.

The author was doing well until he created a new photographic term out of thin air: "Perspective Compression". A nice try, but not a recognized term...yet another self-taught shooter trying to tackle a technical subject he's unqualified to handle writing about. Still, the examples are nicely shot and shown. He did however, manage to get the difference between shallow depth of field and "bokeh" correct, so that was nice.
It would have been nice if he had addressed the term background blur, and how background blur is greater with telephoto lenses, due to their larger ACTUAL apertures, even when shot at the same f/stop as shorter lenses. But, those kinds of accurate, technical discussions are more the province of folks like Bob Atkins.

He got the point across though... correct term or not.