Sharpest wideangle Lens on a budget for landscapes?

AR76

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
"Have a heart and help a noob ;)."

What I'm looking for: a sharp, wideangle lens for landscape photography.

What I'm currently using: Tamron AF 11-18mm 4,5-5,6 Di II LD ASL SP // EOS 50D to be replaced by an EOS 5DII (no time soon though.)

What I could spend: About $400.

For some years now, I've been dreaming about shooting large panoramic landscape prints. I'm aware that the APS-C sensor of the 50D is not the best choice to do so, but as a mere hobby photographer my budget and wife do not allow me to obtain a better body. So far I've used the Tamron 11-18 on the 50D, mounted on a NodalNinja II and a Manfrotto Silver Jubilee tripod. Maybe there's a better, sharper lens out there I could get. What about a used "vintage" lens, as I see no need for autofocus here? Wouldn't $400 get me an older prime glass?

Maybe my conceptions is all bs - what would you recommend please?

Welcome to TPF.

If you're planning to buy a 5D II then you need lenses that can work with full-frame bodies. HOWEVER... since a full-frame sensor naturally provides a wider-angle of view, a 16mm focal length is actually fairly wide (it's the same as using 10mm on an APS-C body).

The only thing I can think of that comes even close to your budget is the Tokina 17-35mm f/4 AT-X Pro FX Lens. On your 50D this won't be very wide... but on a 5D II it will be rather wide (equivalent to your Tamron at 11mm focal length.)

Bryan Carnathan at the-digital-picture.com thinks the Canon 17-40 is sharper, but he thinks the Tokina 17-35 has less vignetting and distortion. The Canon, however, costs nearly double the price of the Tokina and with your $400 budget, the Canon is probably out of the question (even with a rebate it's still $739). The Tokina is $485.